LICIL Navigation Home Membership The Bulletin Board Scrapbook LICIL Directory Links In the Loop Calendar Contact

Disabled Parenting Project offers exciting line-up for ADA 26!

By Long Island Center. Filed in ADA, Disability, Disability Culture, Disability Rights, In the Loop, Parenting  |   
Tags: ,
Home 
Whether defusing toddler tantrums, navigating teen angst, or juggling everything in between,  most moms and dads would likely say  that parenting is the toughest job they’re called to do, bar none.  And for many it’s also an opportunity they cherish beyond measure.  As mom to an awesome and spirited five-year-old,  I can certainly relate to that dichotomy.  But I do so through the prism of life as a person with a disability.  And that’s a perspective often left out of the “trending” dialogue of today’s world….  Until now, anyway….   It is with enthusiasm and just plain joy that I encourage you to check out the Disabled Parenting Project and all that it has on tap for the 26th anniversary of the ADA.  Together, let’s celebrate the power of #ADAparenting!

ADA26.DPP

Join the Disabled Parenting Project in celebrating the 26th anniversary of the ADA and its impact on parents with disabilities!

  • Leading up to the anniversary, on July 26th, we plan to publish blog posts about the ADA and how it affects parents with disabilities. We are looking for parents, prospective parents, and professionals to write guest blogs on the topic! Please email us ASAP if interested.
  • On Tuesday, July 19th, at 4:30pm EST/1:30pm PST, the DPP is hosting a Twitter Chat to discuss the ADA and parenting with a disability! The hashtag for the Twitter Chat is #ADAParenting.
  • Also on Tuesday, July 19th, from 3pm-4pm EST/12pm-1pm PST, the DPP and the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation are hosting a free webinar, “Parenting with a Disability: Know Your Rights and Take Action.” Register today!

Comments are closed.